孩子,你是怎麼把臉弄髒的啊?

二歲的兒子,最近開始練習自己吃飯。拿湯匙舀碗裡的食物,送到嘴巴裡,這樣的動作,是需要練習的。有時候,眼看著食物就要掉了,卻能化險為夷成功送進嘴裡。其他時候,嘴巴撲個空,食物不是掉到桌上地上就是腿上臉上。這讓我想起一首詩:

Dirty Face
By Shel Silverstein

Where did you get such a dirty face,
My darling dirty-faced child?

I got it from crawling along in the dirt
And biting two buttons off Jeremy’s shirt.
I got it from chewing the roots of a rose
And digging for clams in the yard with my nose.
I got it from peeking into a dark cave
And painting myself like a Navajo brave.
I got it from playing with coal in the bin
And signing my name in cement with my chin.
I got it from rolling around on the rug
And giving the horrible dog a big hug.
I got it from finding a lost silver mine
And eating sweet blackberries right off the vine.
I got it from ice cream and wrestling and tears
And from having more fun than you’ve had in years.

這首詩說,親愛的孩子啊,你是怎麼把臉弄髒的啊?孩子回答,當我在泥土裡爬行,把 Jeremy 的襯衫鈕釦咬下來的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了;當我嚼著玫瑰花的根,在院子裡用鼻子挖蛤蜊的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了;當我往一個黑暗的洞穴裡窺視,把自己裝扮成印第安人勇士的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了;當我玩著煤塊,用我的下巴在水泥上簽名的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了;當我在地毯上滾來滾去,給一隻髒狗一個大大的擁抱的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了;當我在尋找一處消失的銀礦,或直接從樹上吃好吃的黑莓的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了;當我在吃冰淇淋、玩摔角、玩得非常盡興的時候,我把我的臉弄髒了。

既然兒子現在在學自己吃飯,也開始騎三輪腳踏車,如果我也同樣問:親愛的孩子啊,你是怎麼把臉弄髒的啊?或許(如果他懂得表達的話),他會這麼回答:

I got it from feeding myself with the spoon
And riding a trike with my hand holding a balloon.

This entry was posted in 親子生活 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

